Brand me

February 21, 2009 at 1:39 am (1) (, , )

business_brandingMy online personality, brand me, can be crafted, edited and used to influence.  An online persona allows us to manipulate our image to suit the way we want to be perceived.     

Establishing a brand online took me no longer than a few careful mouse clicks and 15-minutes to set up my profile.  I selected a suitable picture and clicked send.  No overt intention, no real thought going into the process.  Just that easy.  

Branding oneself in reality takes a lot more consideration. Years of honing tastes, building experiences and trying to stand out from the crowd, has only left me more confused and still debating the meaning of individuality.

An online brand does not come without its challenges.  As simple as it may be to set up a profile, an alter-ego or a manipulated version of you, it can just as easily backfire.  If you’re like me–using social media to market yourself to potential employers–we must be weary of the image we project.  Representation of  brand me should reflect and highlight my skills, rather than discuss the latest weekend fiasco.   

A little more contimplation than click and send.

1 Comment

  1. Danielle said,

    Agreed agreed. Even in my personal life, do people care what my self-identified status is? Maybe some do … but I’d rather text to them.

    When there are so many ways to reveal yourself and your strengths, why not do it?

Leave a Reply

